Creamy Barley with Chicken and Tomatoes

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 clove of garlic
2 cups quick cooking barley
28 ounce can diced tomatoes
1 cup dry white wine or dry vermouth
2 1/2 cups water
1 large or 2 medium chicken breasts, raw or cooked, diced

1//8 kg chicken liver
1 bundle of asparagus
1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese

Inspired from the dish I had at a French restaurant. I had a craving for pearl couscous and thought of creating it myself. I can’t find it locally but luckily my boyfriend brought some barley which tastes similar to the pearl couscous.

The dish is an improvised version of creamy barley with tomatoes, chicken, and spinach. The original recipe can be found here. Instead of spinach, we’ve used asparagus and added chicken liver into the mix. You can also add shredded fresh basil. Here I’ve added bay leaves to add aroma to the mixture. It tastes equally good. Best enjoyed with a bottle of wine.

Cooking is easy, you just have to remind yourself of the individual flavors, usually, you can use alternatives to replicate a dish.

Tagged with: