Gino’s Brick Oven Pizza

Everyone loves a good pizza over beers. For me, a good pizza is thin, freshly cooked in a wood fired oven, topped with fresh ingredients.

Over a week ago, my boyfriend was in town and we wanted to have pizza and beers. Luckily, there’s one in my neighborhood which is just walking distance away. Gino’s has a small space in Bautista St. in Makati. You can easily recognize it from afar, it has a huge logo at the entrance of the establishment. The restaurant is well lit and a bit posh than the other pizzerias we’ve been to. It feels almost like a hospital but it isn’t (just because of the lights).  Maybe they just wanted to have more lights, but this is really not the reason why we were there. We came for the food.

Browsing the menu, I was delighted to see that they are using fresh and local ingredients for the pizza. It still tastes local with an Italian flair. We were worried that there wasn’t any beer because they don’t have it on the menu. I saw some wines at the counter, so we asked the waiter if they have beer, he said they do. I was very pleased. They have local brews available and it’s my first time trying it. So aside from the pizza, we ordered a couple of beers, one of each kind so we’ll know which tastes better.

Waiting time wasn’t long (approx 15 minutes), we were greeted by one pizza to the next. The pizza was so good! Nothing beats a fresh baked pizza. I tried the spicy honey, I guess they have it because Filipinos naturally like it sweet but it wasn’t really working out for me so I switched to chili flakes, the pizza tasted a lot better. The beer was also a good compliment to the pizza. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. It was quick, easy and delicious. I highly recommend it.

