What’s it like living alone after 8 years of being in a relationship

The first year was a difficult period. I had to let go of a lot of stuff (including all the stuff my ex left) and had to deal with the emotional turmoil. It wasn’t easy but I was able to do it. Like all progress, it requires a step at a time. I was determined to move on.

They say you will realize who your true friends are when you are at your darkest. It was very true, I get to know the people who really cared for me and I reciprocated with all my heart. It was easier to go out and enjoy other people’s company without having to worry about anyone when I get home. I made food that I want to eat, and I need not share my bed with anyone.

I rearranged my schedule so that I won’t get lots of downtime. I worked part time helping out small businesses online while I have a day job. Worked out and do gardening, go with friends out of town and spend time with kidsĀ in an orphanage. It was also enlightening and uplifting that my friends cared for me and sent love from overseas. I was working relentlessly eager to survive.

Eventually I had to move to a smaller space so that the transitioning for me would be easier. I continued to get rid of most of my stuff down to 10% before moving completely on my own. I was happier, healthier, and more in control of my life. In the past years, I’ve proven it to myself several times that less is really more. I get to see what really matters in life.

Here’s me in Moscow, in a much better state. I’m still alive!

