How to Make Strawberry Preserves

Christmas is just around the corner! This year, I decided to make my own gifts. Back when I was younger, I used to make my own gifts and thought of doing it again.

Yesterday, I went out and searched for jars. Unfortunately, the department store ran out of mason jars so I purchased bail lid jars instead. They look great and you can use it on other things. I’ve read about a lot of reviews saying it’s not the best canning method for preserves but if you don’t have anything else available, just use it and put it in the fridge. Consume it within 2 months. If you use mason jars and sterilize it, you can keep it for up to a year.

I followed the recipe in All Recipes, the ingredients is very simple: sugar, strawberries and lemon juice. I made 4 jars using the recipe but it may vary depending on the jar you’re using. I made two batches. I don’t have a big pot to make it, it overflowed a few times using my sauce pan. Later on I found out that by adding butter, it helps lessen the foam.

Ingredients:

Steps:

  1. Wash the strawberries, use a small knife to remove the stem.
  2. The fun part. Crush the berries using your hands. It’s ok to leave some of the strawberries whole. The point is at least get some juice out of them.
  3. If you’re using a mason jar, you can sterilize them in your oven. Preheat the oven to 120°C. Wash jars and lids in soapy water, rinse and non-plastic lids on a sturdy over tray. Place it in the oven for 20 minutes. If you’re using the same jars as I have, do the water bath method.
  4. Put your stove to medium heat. Pour the strawberries in the pot, add the lemon juice and let it boil. Once it boils, add the sugar and then stir.
  5. Once the mixture boils, add 2 teaspoons of butter (this will help reduce the foam).
  6. Turn the heat up and stir occasionally until it reaches to a rolling boil (even if you stir the mixture, it still boils). To test the consistency, get a plate and put it inside the freezer, take it out and put a teaspoon of the mixture. Put it back to the freezer for 1 minute and push the mixture. If you get a ripple, that means it’s ready. You can also check if it’s ready if you see a thick mixture at the back of your spatula.
  7. Transfer your preserves to the sterilized jars and let it cool. Move it to the fridge once you’re done. If you’re using mason jars, put the lids and sterilize it again. You will hear a popping sound once you get it out of the water bath indicating that your jar is sealed.

 

Tagged with: