Movie Review: In the Absence of the Sun (Indonesia)

The story revolves around three women. Each have their own story as they explore the night to find themselves in the ever changing landscape of Jakarta. I can’t help but compare the movie to Paris Je t’aime and New York I love you. The movie was directed by the talented young director Lucky Kuswandi.

The movie reminded me of my days in Kemang, I can definitely agree to everything stated in the movie. The story was narrated in a way that mocks the society in a playful and humorous way. The treatment of the movie is modern with a filtered effect which makes the temperament of the scenes  appear warm and inviting, I like the way he uses mirrors and having it in one frame creating a multi layer effect. Overall I think it is visually pleasing, but lacks the luster of a great film. The quiet moments were definitely awkward.

